Peach curd ice cream

The summer is slowly slipping away, but I’m not ready to let go. So before the pumpkin time is here, let’s have some ice cream. Not that it’s going to be the last time. Ice cream, you have a special place in my heart. No matter what’s the weather, I’m not gonna give you up.

So I had some peaches and nectarines (and by some I mean about 3kg) and I wanted to make something with them. I decided to make peach curd. I had only ever made lemon curd, so I was curious about how it would turn out. Well, it was good. I am so going to try other versions of the curd.

But back to the peach one. I didn’t feel like making pie or tart or something like that. It was really hot (that was two days ago, it’s freaking raining as I’m writing this) and ice cream seemed like a really good idea. So I made it. And I liked it.

This is really simple to make and you don’t need an ice cream maker (not that I have one, but it’s really high on my wish list, maybe I should write to Santa to bring me one).

Anyway, here is how to make it:

Peach curd:

adapted from group recipes

Ingredients:

  • 2 peaches + 1 nectarine
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1 cup (150g) sugar
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice (or to taste)
  • 80g unsalted butter

Directions:

Cut and peel the peaches and nectarine then puree them.

Beat egg yolks and sugar, add the puree and the lemon juice.

Place over simmering water and stir constantly till it thickens. Ones that happens, remove from the heat and add the butter little by little.

You can strain it if you want to (I didn’t strain mine and it was totally fine). Put into a jar and once it cools, keep it the fridge.

For the ice cream:

Ingredients:

  • 300ml heavy cream
  • 12 tablespoons peach curd
  • powdered sugar (optional, to taste)
  • vanilla (optional)

Directions:

Whip the heavy cream, add the curd and mix well. If it’s not sweet enough, add some powdered sugar. You can also add some vanilla if you want to. Pour the mixture into a suitable container and freeze overnight. That’s all.

Enjoy!


Notes:

I used peaches and nectarine since I had both. You can use whichever you have or like more.

I measured the curd in tablespoons because I was taking it out of the jar and it was easier. How much you are going to use is up to you. Make it to suit your taste.

4 thoughts on “Peach curd ice cream

Leave a Reply

