bread · dinner · savory

Braided buttermilk bread

This bread is really tasty! I should totally make it more often. This was actually my saturday dinner. I like to have pizza or sometimes lasagna on Saturdays and Sundays. You know, the perfect weekend dinner. I guess I should add this one to my list.

I barely managed to snap some pictures of the bread before I started eating it, so I can show it to you. Just proves it’s really good. Or I was super hungry. Or both.

Did I mention that it has bacon in it? And onion. And yellow cheese. I have never been an onion fan but recently I discovered that it’s not all that bad, so I started using it here and there. My feelings about eating it might have slightly changed, but I still hate chopping it. Is there actually a person who enjoys chopping onion?

I really like how this braid looks and the best part is that it’s easy to make.

braided buttermilk bread0

Anyway, here is how to make this braided buttermilk bread:

adapted from Food & Wine

Ingredients:

Filling:

  • 40-50g unsalted butter
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 150g bacon, cut into small cubes
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • 1 cup shredded yellow cheese (or a different type of your choice)

Dough:

  • 120g cold, unsalted butter
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour + more if needed
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Directions:

Melt the butter in a large skillet and reserve about 2 tablespoons of it (to brush the bread before baking). Add the chopped onion and cook for several minutes till it softens. Stir in the bacon and cook some more. Season with salt and black pepper and remove from the heat. Let cool slightly and then add the cheese and mix well. While the filling is cooling down, make the dough.

Preheat the oven to 180C degrees.

In a large bowl mix together the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda. Add the cold butter, cut into small pieces and rub between your fingers untill crumbly. Pour the buttermilk and stir with a spoon till the dough comes together. Kneed it several times with your hands ( the dough should be soft, but not sticky. If needed, add more flour).

On a piece of parchment paper, roll the dough into a big rectangle (by rolling it on the parchment paper you’ll be able to easily move the bread to the baking sheet). Cut each side into strips. Spread the filling in the center and start crisscrossing the strips over the filling to create the braid.

Brush with the reserved butter and move to your baking sheet. Bake the bread for about 30 minutes or until golden brown.

Enjoy!


Notes:

Don’t have buttermilk? No problem. Add a tablespoon of lemon juice to a cup of milk, stir and let it sit for 10 minutes. That’s what I used.

You can make this bread with a different type of filling. Choose something you like.

7 thoughts on “Braided buttermilk bread

  1. I wonder how it tastes, but it looks gorgeous. I’m going to make it soon…will give you a feedback. Thanks for sharing this simple and interesting recipe. Best wishes!

    Like

    1. I’ll be very happy if you give it a try. Definitely give me feedback. This bread will also work with a different type of filling, so if this one is not to your taste, just use something you like more.

      Like

Leave a Reply

