breakfast · savory · snack

Cheese scones

How have you been doing this past week? I didn’t have anything to share with you not because I didn’t make anything, but because my experiments didn’t end up as successful as I hoped they would. You know when you are really excited about something and then you try it and it ends up being kind of meh. Not really all that bad, but still not good. That’s what happened to me.

I still have half of the cake I baked (with some small changes it’s going to be great I’m sure and when I make it again I’ll share it with you), so I wanted to make something savoury and simple. That’s how I ended up with these cheesy scones. Now I actually regret making such a small batch of only 6. They are pretty nice and will be great for breakfast.

You can easily double the recipe if you want more.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 package (10g) baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • black pepper (to taste)
  • 1 cup grated yellow cheese + more for sprinkling (or use a different type)
  • 120-150ml milk
  • 1 egg, beaten, for brushing

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 180C degrees. Line a baking tray with parchment paper.

Put the flour, baking powder, salt and black pepper into a large bowl and whisk together. Stir in the grated cheese. Add part of the milk and use a spoon or your hands to bind the ingredients together. Add more milk if you need it till soft, but not sticky dough forms.

Knead it several times then flatten it into a circle about 2.5cm thick. Cut into 6 or 8 triangular pieces and transfer them to the baking tray.

Brush with the beaten egg and sprinkle some cheese on top of them. Bake them for about 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Cheese scones

Leave a Reply

