Creamy carrot and potato soup

I’m not really into soups. I have never been. Since I was a kid they have been one of my least favorite foods. Sure, a warm chicken soup on a cold day would be nice, but that’s pretty much the only exception.

However, I decided to give soups a chance. After making a tomato one which turned out pretty good, I made this one. And let me tell you, I liked it a lot. This soup is actually delicious. I prepared it on a particularly rainy and gloomy Saturday and the result really made me feel a little bit better.

I don’t think I’ll turn into a soup lover, but maybe from time to time I can have one, so you will probably see another recipe here.

Makes 2-3 servings

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • 2 large carrots, peeled (scrubbed) and chopped
  • 3 medium potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 600ml chicken/vegetable stock or water

Directions:

Heat the oil in a large pot. Add the onion and cook for several minutes, till translucent. Season with salt and pepper. Add the chopped vegetables and stock and mix everything.

Cover the pot and bring to a boil then lower the heat a little bit and let it simmer for about 30 minutes until the carrots and potatoes have softened (to make sure, just try them).

Transfer to a blender or use an immersion blender to puree the soup until smooth (be careful when doing this since the soup is hot).

Serve warm (but cold is also good).

Enjoy!


Notes:

This soup is really thick. You can increase the amount of stock/water if you prefer.

Leave a Reply

