Cheese and bacon muffins

I usually have an idea what I’m going to make, so I get all the ingredients beforehand. I get really annoyed if I start to make something and it turns out I don’t have everything. That’s exactly what happened a couple of days ago when I made these muffins. I was preparing whatever I was going to need (still in my pajamas of course) when it turned out I don’t have flour of all things. I really don’t know how I forgot to buy it, I guess I thought I still had some. Not that it’s such a big deal, the store is so close by, but it got me angry. Sometimes even small things like this can really piss me off.

Anyway, after a quick trip to the store I got my flour, made my muffins and everything was fine again.

This is a simple recipe you can make in no time and it will be great for breakfast or snack. I think a little bit more bacon won’t hurt, however.

Makes 10-12

Adapted from the book The Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • black pepper
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 60g unsalted butter melted and cooled
  • 60g bacon, cooked and cut into small cubes
  • 1 cup shredded yellow cheese (or use a different type)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 180C degrees and prepare your muffin pan. Line with paper cases or grease (or use silicone molds).

In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and black pepper. Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and add the eggs and milk. Mix with an electric mixer on low speed. When the batter comes together, mix in the melted butter. Lastly, stir in the bacon and cheese by hand using a spatula/wooden spoon.

Spoon the batter into your muffin molds/cases, filling only 2/3 and bake for about 25-30 minutes or until golden brown on top.

They are really nice while still slightly warm.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Cheese and bacon muffins

Leave a Reply

