Challah bread

PENTACON DIGITAL CAMERA

Hello. How long has it been? I finally have a new post. My December baking didn’t start well. I went trough another meh period. Things just didn’t work out the way I wanted them. Fortunately, the challah here didn’t fall under this curse that gets me from time to time and turned out pretty good. I have several Christmas recipes in mind and I hope they will go well too because otherwise I am going to be very pissed.

PENTACON DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the third time I’m making challah lately and I have to say that I like it a lot. The one here is made with all-purpose and whole wheat flour (well the whole wheat flour is not much, but I think it adds to the taste). I really like the combination.

PENTACON DIGITAL CAMERA   PENTACON DIGITAL CAMERA

The thing I’m most excited about however is the braid. I finally tried the four strand round one. I guess I should work on it some more but for a first time, I think it turned out well. Maybe it would have been better to make the strands thinner but whatever I like it like this. My next goal will be a six strand braid.

There are many ways to shape this bread so make it however you like. The four strand braid is not really hard so don’t worry. If you like it you should give it a try.

PENTACON DIGITAL CAMERA

adapted from the book The New Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour +more if needed
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 package (7g) dry yeast
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 50g unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 egg to brush the top
  • sesame seeds to sprinkle on top (optional)

Directions:

Combine the flour, yeast and salt in a large bowl. Add the honey, egg, water and butter and start mixing with a spoon (you can use a mixer, but I like to do it by hand) until the dough forms. Knead it for several minutes. Add more flour if needed. You should get nice smooth and not sticky dough.

Shape it into a ball and grease it with some oil. Put it in a bowl, cover with plastic wrap and then a towel and let it rest (preferably somewhere warm) for about hour and a half. It should double in size.

Take the dough out of the bowl and on a lightly floured surface. Cut it into four equal parts. Roll each one into a long rope. Arrange the ropes so they will crisscross and braid them (I used the video at Kosher on a Budget as a guide).

Once you shape the bread transfer it to a baking pan/sheet covered with parchment paper and let it rest for another 20-30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 180C degrees.

Brush the top of the bread with a lightly beaten egg and sprinkle some sesame seeds if you want to.

Bake the challah for about 20-25 minutes or until nicely browned on top.

Let it cool before slicing (don’t be impatient like me).

Enjoy!

15 thoughts on “Challah bread

  1. Hi Dani, sorry you were going through a meh period. I hope the success of your Challah bread has cheered you up. It is absolutely beautiful. I must try sometime, so have pinned it. I really haven’t got into the bread making, it is on the To Do List 🙂 .
    Have a great week.

    Like

    1. Thank you. Sometimes things just don’t go the way I want them to, but I guess it’s normal. I really like working with dough so I enjoy making bread. Try it when you have the time. The fresh baked homemade bread is absolutely delicious.

      Like

Leave a Reply

