Roasted chickpeas

PENTACON DIGITAL CAMERA

Only one day left of this year! Can you believe that? Time  flies so fast. Are you excited? I have really high expectations for the new year, but we’ll see how things will go.

As this is the last post for this year, I want to thank you for taking the time to visit, like, follow and comment here on my blog. I really appreciate it. Taking pictures of food proved to be a challenge for me, but I hope that I’ll improve in the future.

Happy New Year and see you in 2016!

PENTACON DIGITAL CAMERA

Do you like chickpeas? Well, if you do, I have something for you. These roasted chickpeas make a great snack or appetizer or you can add them to your salad. You can spice this little treat however you like. I used curry powder, but next time I’ll try something else. If you have any suggestions, share them with me.

PENTACON DIGITAL CAMERA

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (400g) chickpeas
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • salt
  • curry powder (or different spices of your choice)

Directions:

Drain and rinse the chickpeas well. Pat them dry with paper towels or a dishtowel. Make sure they are dried well. You can let them sit uncovered for several minutes. Some of the skins will come off as you dry them and I removed the rest, but that’s not really necessary.

Preheat the oven to 180C degrees. Toss the chickpeas in a bowl with the oil and salt and coat them evenly. Transfer to a baking sheet covered with parchment paper and spread in one layer.

Roast them for 30-40 minutes until browned and crispy, stirring several times with a wooden spoon (it’s best to taste them. You want them crispy, not burnt).

Once out of the oven, toss them with spices of your choice and stir to coat them evenly. Keep in mind that the longer they stay, the less crispy they will be.

Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Roasted chickpeas

  1. Happy New Year Dani. I hope 2016 will be a good one for you. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your blogs.
    I have been quite slack these last couple weeks and haven’t posted, just too much happening and not enough time. I am sure things will get back on track for me in the New Year. So, will see you then 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

