bread · breakfast · savory · snack

Buttermilk biscuits

buttermilk biscuits1

I’ve been in quite the baking mood these days, even more so than usual. Since I already had a few sweet stuff, I decided to make something savory and went with some buttermilk biscuits. I really like them, but I don’t make them that often. I need to correct this mistake.

buttermilk biscuits3

Now, I’m not going to tell you that these are the “perfect” biscuits. I have made them a few times and I like the way they turned out, but there’s always room for improvement. If you have any tips, please share them.

buttermilk biscuits5

I make the biscuits with only baking powder, not with a combination of baking soda and baking powder. I don’t leave the dough sticky and I prefer to roll it with a rolling pin instead of patting it flat with my hands. As long as it’s in a thick layer (at least 1cm or a little bit more), the biscuits will rise well.

buttermilk biscuits2

They are so, so good, especially while still warm. With the slightly crispy outside and tender inside, I don’t need to add butter or jam or whatever. I can eat them plain.

buttermilk biscuits4

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 package (10g) baking powder
  • 80g cold unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 180C degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, salt and baking powder. Add the cold butter, cut into small pieces. Using your fingers, rub the flour and butter together until the mixture looks crumbly. Gradually add the buttermilk while mixing with a spoon until the dough starts to form (you might need a  little bit more or less buttermilk). The dough shouldn’t be sticky. Gently knead it a few times so it will come together.

Transfer to a lightly floured surface. Roll into a thick layer (at least 1cm). Using a biscuit cutter or a cup, cut out your biscuits (don’t twist when cutting). Transfer to the baking sheet. Gather and re-roll the rest of the dough until you use it all up.

Bake the biscuits for about 15 minutes or until browned on top.

Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Buttermilk biscuits

    1. Thanks! They are perfect for breakfast (I’m eating the few left right now, but they are best warm). I happened to have “real” buttermilk and I’m thinking what else to make with it. I usually need to use a substitute when a recipe calls for it. Try them sometime. They don’t take long to make:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

