chocolate · cookies · dessert · sweet

Chocolate chunk cookies

chocolate chunk cookies1

Remember how I told you that it’s getting warmer here? Scratch that. It’s been raining for two days pretty much non-stop and it’s cold. I want my warm weather back. It’s so gloomy and unpleasant outside, it puts me in a bad mood. Even making some chocolate chunk cookies didn’t help much.

chocolate chunk cookies2

I haven’t posted a chocolate chip cookie recipe until now and that’s a shame. It’s pretty much a must for every food blog:) I make them relatively often (when I have chocolate and can’t think of anything else). So far, I haven’t discovered “the best” cookie recipe. Every time I make them, I change something to see if they will get better (or worse).

chocolate chunk cookies3

These cookies are slightly chewy and really good.  They are also easy to make. I mixed everything with a wooden spoon, so no mixer is needed and you don’t need to chill the dough.

The only downside is chopping the chocolate. It’s really annoying (you can use chocolate chips if you want). I usually do this first and leave the chopped chocolate in the fridge while I prepare everything else.

chocolate chunk cookies4

Makes about 12 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup melted and cooled unsalted butter
  • vanilla essence/extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 dark chocolate (100g), chopped

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 180C degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the egg and the two types of sugar. Add the melted butter and stir well until combined. Mix in the vanilla essence. Sift the flour and add it with the salt and baking soda in three batches (it’s easier to mix it this way). Finally, stir in the chocolate.

Shape into balls and place on the baking sheet, leaving some space between them (the dough is soft, but it shouldn’t be sticky. If you find it sticky, add a little bit more flour until you can shape it without a problem).

Bake for about 12 minutes or until the edges are golden (careful not to overbake). Let the cookies cool slightly on the baking sheet before moving them.

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Chocolate chunk cookies

  1. I tend to be in a habit of baking cookies every weekend, for the weekend. This is on my to do list ! They look amazing. I don’t mind the chopping of chocolate, so long as I give myself a sneaky treat of chocolate whilst chopping…so generally I have to have extra chocolate before the chopping process 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These look delicious! Great recipe. It would be amazing if you could share a recipe with a sugar-free substitute and diabetic safe. However, these look yummy 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

