dessert · panna cotta · sweet

Vanilla strawberry Panna Cotta

vanilla strawberry panna cotta1

Since it’s spring (not that you can tell by the weather), I’m in the mood for spring recipes. And what’s better than making something with strawberries? I think I’m slightly obsessed with them right now. I’ve been buying strawberries every week. I have so many ideas about what to make with them. So here’s the vanilla Panna Cotta with a strawberry sauce I made.

vanilla strawberry panna cotta2

The sauce turned out pretty well. It’s just the right consistency. I’ll definitely make it again and I’m sure it will be great not only for this dessert. This is my go-to Panna Cotta recipe made with heavy cream and milk, but I think it’s time to try something new. The next time I make it, it will be different.

vanilla strawberry panna cotta3

Ingredients:

Panna Cotta:

  • 1 package (10g) gelatin
  • 300ml heavy cream
  • 200ml milk
  • 3-4 tablespoons sugar (to taste)
  • vanilla essence/extract

Strawberry sauce:

  • 1 cup chopped strawberries
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • vanilla essence/extract

Directions:

Pour a little bit of water in a bowl and stir in the gelatin. Set aside.

Combine the heavy cream, milk and sugar in a saucepan. Bring the mixture just to a simmer (don’t boil) and remove from heat. Add the vanilla. Let it cool for several minutes.

Pour over the gelatin and stir until it melts.

Divide between cups and leave to cool some more before placing in the fridge for 3-4 hours or overnight.

To make the sauce, puree the strawberries with the sugar and mix in the cornstarch. Bring to a boil and cook for 2-3 minutes. Remove from heat and add the vanilla.

Let the sauce cool before spooning over the Panna Cotta. You can garnish with fresh strawberries if you want to.

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Vanilla strawberry Panna Cotta

  1. Dani, oh, your panna cotta looks divine. I have never made this before. To tell you the truth, I am a bit nervous using gelatine 🙂 I know, it is so silly, and I need to get over it…I will, I promise.
    Anyway, my friend, well you know I love your blog 🙂 so I have nominated you for the Liebster Award. I would love for other bloggers to connect with you and enjoy your blog as much as I do. Please pop over to my blog and check it out
    https://lynnesrecipetrails.com/2016/03/26/liebster-award/
    Thanks and have a lovely weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

