Dinner rolls

dinner rolls1

How are you doing? Is it getting really hot where you live? It is here, not that I’m complaining. It’s much better than being cold. I’m eating lots of ice cream and regretting the fact that I don’t have an ice cream maker at home. But before we get to the frozen treats, here are some dinner rolls. Not very exciting I know, but I think they turned out pretty nice.

dinner rolls2

The last time I made rolls (a different recipe) they didn’t end up quite right. This time, I think I did well. I’m happy with the results, so here they are.

dinner rolls3

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour +more if needed
  • 1 package (7g) dry yeast
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten (room temperature)
  • 1 cup warm milk
  • 4 tablespoons melted unsalted butter
  • 1 egg + 1 tablespoon milk for the egg wash
  • sesame and/or poppy seeds to sprinkle on top

Directions:

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, yeast, sugar, and salt. Make a well in the center and add the egg, milk and butter. Start mixing with a spoon until the dough forms. Knead it for a few minutes, adding more flour if needed until you get soft, but not sticky dough. Shape it into a ball. Grease with some oil and put in a bowl then cover with a plastic wrap and a towel. Let it rest in a warm place for 1 1/2 – 2 hours until it doubles.

Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Punch down the dough and turn it out onto a lightly floured surface. Roll it into a long log and cut into 16 pieces (they will be pretty small this way. You can make them larger if you prefer). Shape each one into a ball and arrange on the baking sheet. Let them rest for another 20-30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 180C degrees.

Just before you put them in the oven, brush the tops of the rolls with the lightly beaten egg mixed with a tablespoon milk. Sprinkle with sesame/poppy seeds and bake for about 15-20 minutes or until nicely browned on top.

Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Dinner rolls

  1. Thanks for this recipe. I’ve been wanting to make my own rolls for a while. I made a bread with store bought dough last week, but it was a disappointment. I’m going to check out your cinnamon roll recipe now. I love cinnamon rolls. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome:) Nothing beats a freshly baked homemade bread! It can be a little time-consuming with the resting part, but it’s worth it. And I love cinnamon rolls too! The recipe here is a little twist on them. I hope you will like it:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

